Social Security and Disability

At the Law Office David C. Braswell, PLLC we represent claimants seeking disability before the Social Security Administration. If you are disabled and need assistance in pursuing your social security disabiilty claim please give us a call or schedule an appointment.

Definition of Disability:

The inability to engage in substantial gainful employment by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to either result in death or last at least 12 months.

There are 4 levels of adjudication by the Social Security Administration, followed by Federal Court adjudication. The stages of adjudication are as follows:

  1. Filling out the application - this can be done at any Social Security office, through the mail, or by telephone.

  2. State Agency Level - The initial determination, as well as the first appeal (referred to as "Reconsideration") are determined by the State Agency, which in North Carolina is referred to as the "Disability Determination Section". At this level decisions are generally made without any personal contact.

  3. Hearing Level - The hearing level is where the claimant appears before an administrative law judge in person and is allowed to present evidence about his or her disability.

  4. Appeals Council - In the event the claimant is turned down at the hearing level the claimant can request Appeals Council review.

  5. Federal Court - A denial by the Appeals Council completes the administrative remedies. A claimant may seek judicial review in the Federal District Court challenging the denial by the Social Security Administration. SocialSecurity.jpg

You can find a Listing of Impairments here
Visit the Social Security Administration Website.

Schedule an Appointment

Braswell Law is the Rocky Mount Social Security and Disability Lawyer (Rocky Mount Social Security and Disability Attorney) you are looking for.